One year after IVF…

28 October 2010 burkey0906

This date last year I was at Little France getting blood taken for a pregnancy test after an agonising wait after ET, and here I am with only one week to my due date (I’m 39 weeks pregnant and could only have hoped to have been in this position last year).

I know I am so lucky and so glad that we didn’t have to go through IVF again, but if we needed to, you bet I’d have gone through it again.

I’ve finished work on maternity leave and I won’t be back for 14 months (I’ll not work a single day in 2011…how great)! And I can’t believe it’s only 1 week to my due date, it seems some days it’s crept in and other days time is just flying past.

Last year when going through IVF I did think “this time next year I might have a 3 month old” but when I learned IVF hadn’t worked I despaired that I’d never be lucky enough to know what it would feel like to have my very own baby growing inside me. There are still times when it hits me that I am pregnant, that it is really happening. A friend of a friend who gave birth to a little girl after her 1st IVF treatment said the reality of actually having a baby didn’t hit her until the midwife put her baby in her arms. I think I may feel like that too. Even though I take great comfort every time bambino moves I still find it strange to think there really is a little person in there making all those kicks and punches :o)

My other blog “Infertility and Me” proved really helpful and was a great source of comfort, especially from the friends I’ve met through it, but I didn’t feel the need to write about my pregnancy experience as much as I thought I would have…hence the massive gap in communication.

The next time I’ll update this site is when our baby is here…OMG how amazing is that!! :o)

To everyone who has read any of my posts, thanks and to my online friends you mean more to me than you can imagine.

To others who are struggling with infertility, I understand your despair but hope and pray you can take some hope/belief from my story that one day it could happen to you.

Cxx

Entry Filed under: Pregnant

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. needbabydee  |  4 February 2013 at 11.32 am

    I have just come across your blog, and I’m so happy that things have worked out for you. I pray they do for me too.

    Much love
    tryingforbabydee.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Infertility and me!

Read my infertility blog: Infertility and me!

An Infertile Parent

My new parenthood blog:
An Infertile Parent

20 week scan

20 week scan

12 week scan

12 week scan photo
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Meta

 
